skip navigation

2006 USPHC

History in the Making

     January 20th, 2006 will forever be a historic day in Minnesota, as the U.S. Pond Hockey Championship dropped the puck for the first time. Lake Calhoun hosted 116 teams, on 25 rinks of true hockey enthusiasts from across the land to participate in a competition that carries tradition, passion, and guts. Everything was left on the ice as Almost 40, The Minnesota Loons, and Fighting Weasel's fought tooth and nail to etch their name in to the record books.

      USPHC played host to a fierce showdown between Gov. Tim Pawlenty's “Team Minnesota” and St. Paul Mayor Chris Coleman's “Minnesota White Caps,” as Minneapolis Mayor R.T. Rybak served as White Caps' honorary coach. NHL Alumni including Craig Norwich and Brian Bellows strapped up the laces after the politicians to display skills of their own.

Almost 40 aka Wright Homes

Player State
Curt Wright Minnesota
Dave Shute Minnesota
Dave Bakken Minnesota
Randy Gallatin Minnesota
Dan Goff Minnesota

The Federal League Allstars

Player State
Tom Bennett Minnesota
Pete Armburst Minnesota
John Blooston Minnesota
Jeff Sorem Minnesota
Kevin Spiewak Minnesota

MN Flyshooter's 2

Player State
Nicole Trueman Minnesota
Jeanine Sobek Minnesota
Angie Rieger Minnesota
Amy Carderelle Minnesota
Nancy Wolf Minnesota
Jill Peifer Minnesota

Fighting Weasel's

Player State
Amelia Steinkraus Minnesota
Nico Kieves Minnesota
Nina Kieves Minnesota
Sonja Nyberg Minnesota
Sarma Pone Minnesota
Laurie Richmond Minnesota

The Minnesota Loons

Player State
Bill Wood Minnesota
Larry Herrboldt Minnesota
Mike Powers Minnesota
Tim MacDonald Minnesota
Bill Stephenson Minnesota
Tom Younghans Minnesota

Sunday Slackers

Player State
Wint Ritchie Minnesota
John Crawford Minnesota
Jack Morrison Minnesota
Chuck Kelley Minnesota
Nat Robbins Minnesota
Bruce Steiner Minnesota